My 101 Things: 5% Done, 95% to Go

24 Jul

Woohoo! There is money in the Money Pot, ladies (and gentlemen).

the Money (Tea) Pot

As part of my 101 Things in 1,001 Days challenge, I pledged to put away $5 for every Thing I completed. We’re now up to a whopping $30 USD, thank you very much, for crossing off such great challenges as:

– Getting a library card (hello, Alamitos Library!)

– Setting up an emergency fund (hello, Istanbul – I am nothing if not single-minded)

– Revising 10 poems

I’m actually super delighted by this last one. As part of my unending list of neuroses, you may remember that I freaked out on Google Docs (or Google Drive, or whatever new madness those wacky Googleites are concocting next) a month or so back, when I couldn’t print any of my poems from my account. Instead of going back to the manual typewriter, as I sometimes dream about (god, remember that beautiful click-clacking of the keys, the jingle bell satisfaction of the return lever), I settled on the next big thing: retyping all my  manuscript poems as good, old-fashioned, single-computer accessible Word documents. 

It took about a thousand years, what with my old lady hands (which start to cramp up after the third or fourth line) and my substandard typing skills, but I managed to finish it earlier this week. Along the way, since I was rereading and rethinking about all these poems, I decided to revise what needed revising. Or at least attempt to fix what I could.

It’s probably been since April 2011 that I took a long, hard look at all of these poems. I’ve been tweaking here and there, but this time I had to look at (and retype) each and every single one. Which was a little painful, I’ll admit. I’ve been working on some of these poems for a few years now, and others I wrote even earlier than that. There are a couple that I’m still toying with, trying to decide if they belong in this manuscript as it is now. There will be more painful cuts, I’m sure.

But for now, I have 40 odd poems, 19 of which I just finished revising. Again. Some of the tweaks were minor: line breaks, a different word here or there, or a new title that seemed to pull the poem together better. Others required a bit more work, usually cutting extraneous lines or characters, sometimes adding more in to better connect the pieces. I still can’t imagine how novelists do it. Especially the “big book” ones that I love the most.

For now, I’m happy with my 5% done, my 19 revised poems. It’s a start.

Rock on, peeps.

2 Responses to “My 101 Things: 5% Done, 95% to Go”

  1. Zen July 24, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Good luck with that! Sounds like an awesome challenge, and a good way to save money too. 😉

    • jhointhecity July 28, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to (and a little nervous about) some of the bigger Things on my list, like visiting Istanbul and trying to open my own business. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

