Bookstore Daydreams: It’s All About Location, Location, Location

17 Jul

As you probably know, my current Big Picture fantasy is to someday open my own bookstore. It’s on my 101 Things list, and it’s my mental Happy Place when work or family or The Boy is driving me nuts. I picture walking past the shelves of books, the comfy seating areas, the big display tables laden with books I love. I think about the things I’ll do to make reading exciting to others. If you’re talking to me and I seem out of it, that’s where I am, in my Bookstore Daydreams.

I’ve started, barely, to look into what it would take to make this a reality, and it is daunting, amazing really, how actual people, not corporations or franchises or conglomerates, become business owners. There is so much to do and learn and plan for, so much money to be saved up or gotten (somehow), so many things to think about.

I know I’m not anywhere near the stage of starting a small business. As someone who wants to open a brick-and-mortar store, not just sell my wares on the Interwebs, I know there are a lot of hurdles to jump, messy seas to navigate.

Which is why I like to dream. One of the things I like to imagine is where this Bookstore Daydream might someday live, in the real world of Long Beach, CA. So you won’t believe what I found the other week as I was out on one of my long perambulations around my neighborhood.

Behold:

could you someday be my bookstore?

This sweet little spot is, as you can see, cheek by jowl to the Coffee Cup Cafe, which as any LBC’er knows is one happening place. They recently were featured in the New York Times’ popular 36 Hours series, making the lines for brunch blow up exponentially.

There used to be a beautiful little children’s bookstore at the corner of 4th and Grand, two doors down from the Cafe, which is now some twee clothing store called “twig & willow”:

one busily signed corner

I miss the kid’s bookstore, obviously. But what a great location, no? I imagine the hungry and waiting-dazzled cafe goers popping into my Bookstore Daydream, just to kill the time before their Vegetarian Chorizo Scramble is delivered to their eager mouths, and finding their new favorite haunt, right next to their current favorite haunt. It’s kismet.

But my dream of dreams, the holy grail of locations is this:

hello, iconic storefront

I know, it’s currently a still-open (though not to the public) post office just down the street, but imagine the possibilities. The brickwork and giant windows are enough to make me start salivating.

And don’t they tell you to dream big??

Yours in aspirational delusions,

Jho

One Response to “Bookstore Daydreams: It’s All About Location, Location, Location”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bricks, Mortar, Paper, Ink « Perfectly Imperfect - August 24, 2012

    […] Bookstore Daydreams: It’s All About Location, Location, Location (jhointhecity.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

