Long Beach Digs: Southeast Farmers Market

4 Jul

Gorgeous fruits and veggies + Southern California sunshine + handmade tamales = the Southeast Farmers Market, held every Sunday from 9:00AM to 2:00PM in Alamitos Bay Marina, a place near and dear to my heart, so dear in fact that almost every Sunday since we’ve moved to Long Beach, I haul myself out of bed, suit up in my most comfy of comfies, strap on my Guatemalan “shopping purse” and motor on over.

I mean, I love a good farmers market just as much as the next Toms-wearing boho hippie, but honest to god homemade tamales?? And hand-mixed strawberry lemonade?? Hello – get outta my way! In exchange for five of your measly dollars (I can’t get a grande Starbucks mocha in NYC for that little), the lovely man at Me Gusta Tamales will graciously spoon green and red salsa over your piping hot pork tamale (the only way I roll) and expertly eyeball-mix the most perfect blend of homemade lemonade and strawberry juice. If this guy set up shop any closer to my house, I’d be 300 pounds by now.

dude! you and your man purse – outta my way! i need a tamale!

But I’m getting ahead of myself. The Southeast Farmers Market has plenty of other conventionally “farmers market”y goodness. There are literally rows and rows and rows of fresh oranges, plums, lettuce, herbs, apples, strawberries, corn, zucchini, organic meats and even a fresh seafood stand. You could definitely do some serious “shnacking” here (shopping + snacking), sampling all the cut oranges, nectarines, pluots, etc. that the vendors dole out as samples.

On top of which, the Market is a great place for bathing in the gloriousness of cultivated nature. I mean, look at this stuff:

artichoke flowers so beautiful i almost want to learn how to cook them…almost

what the??? oh, garlic nuggets nestled in good organic dirt

beautiful pale mushrooms from the Mushroom Lady

To top it all off, there’s great street music, in the form of this older Black guy who plays guitar and has one of the most hoarsely beautiful voices I’ve heard in a long while. He had me (and my fellow farmers market goers) singing along unabashedly to Jimmy Buffet’s “Margaritaville” – no mean feat.

mr. guitar man who i love though we’ve never spoken

And these old dudes (and this time, dudettes) in beards, overalls and serapes (really, dude, a serape?):

it’s a regular bluegrass festival of sound

If you live anywhere within a 30 minute drive, I highly recommend driving over next Sunday morning to Alamitos Bay Marina for some honest to god quality shnacking at the Southeast Farmers Market. I’ll be the one elbowed-down into my pork tamale, my recycled SEED Market shopping bag propped up against my chair, swaying to some Bob Marley.

Rock on, people.

4 Responses to “Long Beach Digs: Southeast Farmers Market”

  1. Janet Childs ツ July 4, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    We are on the east coast and our favorite market is definitely the Dupont Circle Farmers Market. Whenever we travel we try to plan at least one trip to the local farmers market. It’s so much fun seeing what is “local” in the area and meeting lots of great farmers.

    • jhointhecity July 4, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      I totally agree – seeing the variety at these local markets always amazes me. This was my first time seeing mushrooms at a farmers market, and she’s been there every time I’ve been there. Now I just have to drum up the guts to buy and cook some of the more unusual varieties the Mushroom Lady has!

  2. danie July 4, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Almost want to make me leave my warm comfy bed on a Sunday morning but the garlic pic threw me off.

    • jhointhecity July 4, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Don’t let the garlic frighten you – there’s plenty of pretty, camera-ready eatables at the market. Let me know if you want to go sometime.

Leave a Reply

