…And Some Wedding Thoughts…

12 Oct

Very early on, maybe a week or two into our engagement, CityBoy and I decided that we didn’t want a long engagement. We were approaching four years together, and it was time for this show to hit the road. (I’m not really sure what this means, but you know what I’m saying, right?) I couldn’t imagine spending a whole year (or more) trying to plan the “perfect wedding.”

As most of my friends know, I’m pretty relaxed about most things. I didn’t have a wedding hope chest, or any real notion of what kind of flowers/dress/cake/etc. I wanted. I’ve watched Say Yes to the Dress, but more as an exercise in schadenfreude (a la “Good lord, why would you spend $20,000 that you don’t have on some hoochie dress that shows your bare midriff on your wedding day? You are an idiot and I’m glad to not be your husband.”).

But I did know what I didn’t want.

I didn’t want a giant wedding where there were too many people. I wanted to be able to spend real time with family and friends, and participate in the actual day, instead of being herded around from photo op to photo op.

I didn’t want some giant dress that I couldn’t walk in and that I’d hate 10 minutes into trying to get dressed. (I actually fell off a dressing platform at a wedding shop, when I forgot for a second that I was in a giant dress and giant heels on top of a five inch platform that would allow me to better see the giant dress in all its glory. I’m not kidding. My sisters can tell you. They laughed. A lot.)

I didn’t want some stuffy event, where people moved around in rented penguin tuxes and overdone ball gowns, being polite and nice to one another, and waiters in white frock coats fanned about, making you feel like a jerk for having one more crab cake or putting your drink down there.

When I thought back to all the amazing weddings I’ve been to (and kudos to my girlfriends because they set the bar quite high), what I remembered was this:

– The bride glowed. I couldn’t tell you who they wore or what their shoes looked like or whether their hair was up or down (though I could probably guess with that one). What I remember is the almost unholy look of complete and utter happiness on their faces. Maybe not all of the time, but enough of the time to make me notice and envy their contentment.

– The groom was a gentleman. He was a sweetheart. He looked after his lady and his lady’s family and friends. He was a good sport – he danced even when he didn’t like to dance, and if he liked to dance, he got down.

– The food was good. The drinks were even better.

– We danced like hooligans. Friends, brothers, cousins, fathers, little kids. We moved like fools, compelled to sway and jump and swing like our better, lighter, more flexible, more coordinated selves.

– At the end of the night, we were sad to go. We loved everyone 1000% more than when we had first met, and we were so happy for our friends, these wonderful people who had made this fantastic evening (or weekend or four-day extravaganza) all possible.

Luckily, CityBoy echoed most of my thoughts. We wanted good food, lots of drinks, and dancing. A lot of dancing.

And that’s what we aimed for. Through the next five and a half months of planning, that’s what we kept in mind, the prize on which we kept our eyes.

What we got was even better than I could have imagined.

I can’t stop smiling just thinking about it.

all dressed up and ready to go

One Response to “…And Some Wedding Thoughts…”

  1. Ja'net October 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Mission accomplished! I’m smiling just thinking about that day. And when Manolo asked me yesterday (our first class since I came back), “How was your trip?” I spent nearly 40 minutes talking about your wedding. That says something, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

