I’m Alive…and Have Been to Europe!

10 Oct

[First off, my sincere apologies! A draft of this post has been sitting around in cyberspace since June 12th. June 12th! “Joder!” as the Madrilenos like to say. Some important things have changed in my life – more on that later – but for now, I give you this old, but still pertinent, blog post.]

Yes, faithful readers (if there are any of you still out there). Jho In The City lives. And she’s experienced Europe firsthand (Madrid, Spain to be precise).

Back in May, I visited one of my favorite people in the world, Ms. D, in her happy new home of Embajadores, Madrid for a blissful week of overeating, overdrinking and oversleeping. I wish I could go back right now and do it all over again.

I’m super backed up on things to tell you about, so I’m going to be snappy here.

First, a few things I learned in Madrid:

– Lisping is sexy. Especially when done by very beautiful Madrid boys. Hello, boys.

– Madrileños have a special relationship to ham, or jámon as they call it. I don’t know what pact with God they’ve made, but it was a good deal. If you go to Spain, eat the jámon, as much of it as you and your salt-craving palate can stomach. Then wash it all down with a local beer. Deeeee-licious.

Bellying up to the bar at Museo del Jamon

Jamon-flavored Ruffles?? I think I've found my homeland!

– Tapas cannot be fully appreciated outside of Spain. These people have got afternoon drinking down to a decadent science. Order a cold, frothy cerveza at any sidewalk cafe and they will give you free nibbles. Sometimes lots of free nibbles.

– Did I mention the free nibbles? Baskets of homemade potato chips, olives, chunks of ham or salami, bread with olive oil. It goes on and on and on. These are good people, my friends. Good, good people.

It should go without saying that we saw some beautiful things in lovely museums – the Goya room at Museo del Prado is a visual stunner I will carry with me forever – and laughed at many ridiculous things on both Spanish TV and YouTube (I now have even less reason to trust ducks).

But most of all, I’ll miss the impossibly long talks with my friend. There are people in this world who just get you, you know. They’re like your sisters but better, because they didn’t try to steal your clothes when you were young or get you in trouble for picking on them. Time with these people, these fabulous go-to-the-end-of-the-world, help-you-bury-a-body people, is so precious, you have to just forgo sleep and reasonableness and saving your voice in the name of soaking up all that good time, all those amazing stories, all that laughter, and bottling them up for the next time.

God help us, let there always be a next time.

Hasta luego,

Jho

2 Responses to “I’m Alive…and Have Been to Europe!”

  1. Ja'net October 10, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Right back at ya! Thank you so much for visiting me. Because of you, I am able to shame everyone else I know about not visiting me. I say, ¨Jhoanna got U.S. citizenship to visit. U.S. citizenship!¨

    • jhointhecity October 10, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      That’s right, damn it! I had to study and make flash cards and everything. And it was worth it. 100%. So the rest of you need to get off your toadstools and visit Ja’net (or Madrid, since you may not actually know her).

Leave a Reply

