Thankful…for Real Mail

13 Jan

Cardapalooza 2010

I love getting a personal card or letter. Finding one tucked into the slippery stack of catalogs, magazines and LAST CHANCE credit card offers that clogs up my mailbox is nothing short of a miracle. It means someone likes me (or CityBoy) enough to write a message by hand, stick a stamp on it, and walk it to the post office. It’s like a little hug in the mail. (I know, that sounds suspiciously sentimental for me, but whattayagonnado?) So we feel well and truly hugged. The next time you’re missing a loved one, break out the stationary and write them a note. Trust me, they will appreciate it. Way, way, way more than that virtual Facebook teddy-gram. Way, way, way more.

2 Responses to “Thankful…for Real Mail”

  1. ayearofletters January 13, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Because letters are rare, people are instantly thrilled upon receiving one in the mail. How could one not take advantage of this situation as a means to let someone know you care?

    • jhointhecity January 20, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      I totally agree. My handwriting has become atrocious over the years, but I’m recommitting myself to letter-writing this year. Hopefully the practice will help me improve my barely legible chicken scrawl. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

