Thankful…

19 Nov

In the mail today, wedged in between the junk mail and the seemingly endless number of magazines to which I now subscribe, was this welcome bit of “real” mail:

Special props to my Tita Lou for this super cute, and super homemade, Thanksgiving card. It elicited a smile and a comment (“cute card”) from one of my normally sullen neighbors during a painfully silent elevator ride. So good job, Tita Lou, and thank you.

And in the spirit of thankfulness, I’ve decided to share with you a few things that brighten my day:

1) The Starbucks Morning Bun – it’s like a cross between a croissant and a cinnamon roll, but only better. Way, way, way better. I don’t always luck out at the ‘Bucks because these babies go fast. But when they’re there, watch out – that’s my Morning Bun, not yours.

it's the one in the middle

2) My Land’s End JHO bag – cuz it’s big, it’s orange, and it says my name in big BLOCK letters. Oh, and it’s got pockets up the ying-yang.

so geek chic, right?

And lastly, 3) a certain forty-something Andrew McCarthy. Because he’s reinvented himself as a travel writer, and a pretty good one at that. Because he’s still so damn hot.

oh, Blaine!

And because I got to hear him read at Strand Books, where I was [thiiiiiiiiiiis] close to him.

giving Patrick Dempsey a run for his money in the hair department

It was a reach-out-and-touch-someone moment, though I controlled myself, being a good New Yorker (our motto is “celebrity, schmallebrity”), and also because CityBoy was with me and ready to lunge out and pin my arms to my sides so I didn’t get arrested for fondling a grown man’s hair.

So in a world of nearly endless crappy news, let’s focus on the positives…our family and friends, our health, our ability to create, and the knowledge that Blaine, that blue-blooded charmer, still has it. In spades.

Rock on, people.

– Jho

Leave a Reply

